Gluten Free Hangover Food

by

First of all, I am not an alcoholic.

But let’s just say that since being diagnosed celiac–three weeks ago, ahem–I’ve had a lot of occasions to overindulge.  This will happen when you are attending 3 weddings in one month (and two of them are with your Irish Catholic family).  Let’s not forget that bachelorette parties, seeing old friends, rehearsal dinners and hotel room parties often come along with this territory.

So some of my first GF finds have had to be replacements for the usual hangover food.  You know, takeout pizza.  Wendy’s.  Chicken fingers. McDonald’s french fries.  I can no longer have them and for the foods I can have, they take too long and too much coordination to make from scratch.

So so far, here is a list of gluten free things that I have found to be acceptable hangover food:

  • Cheetos
  • Fritos
  • Cool Ranch Doritos (apparently the Nacho Cheese are not GF–Thanks, Allison!)
  • Cheese grits (the husband makes some good ones)
  • French fries (from a place such as four burgers or five guys)
  • Waffle house (when in the south.  eggs, bacon, hashbrowns.  probably contaminated, but so comforting.)

Anybody else have suggestions?

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Gluten Free Hangover Food”

  1. Allison Says:

    Hi!!

    I SO hear you on this… the first few months I was gluten free I got too drunk all the time — I was used to drinking beer, and switched to wine or mixed drinks and was still drinking them like beer! NOT GOOD.

    Cheese grits are also one of my faves! YUM — do you make them with evaporated milk? I just started doing this and it makes a huge difference!

    Also – regular Nacho Cheese Doritios are NOT gluten free. Cool Ranch are… sad, I know.

    Another good hangover food for me is Mac & Cheese — homemade with tinkyada brown rice pasta and whatever cheese I have in the fridge! soooo good.

  2. The Glutonic Woman Says:

    Regular Doritos are not gluten free? What a bummer. Will have to edit this item to Cool Ranch. Mac and cheese is a good idea (and a no brainer). Never heard of making grits with milk. I’ll have to try it sometime!

    Thanks for the Cambridge tips–I’ve been told about Stone Hearth and will have to check it out. Four Burgers in Central has GF fries. Had those the other day and they were good!

  3. Jenny Says:

    Frito-Lay has a whole list of GF snacks on their website, unfortunately, Nacho Cheese Doritos is not one of them. But I can’t eat cheese anymore anyway, which now eliminates Cool Ranch as well 😦 Thanks for the blog comment, I have tried Glutino Eng Muffins and I do like them. TJ’s muffins do get dry and crumbly and hard as a rock very quickly! Welcome to gluten-free land by-the-way. There is a little group of Boston girls that get together occasionally to try new restaurants and such, we’d love to have you join us! I am not sure when our next gathering will be but I usually will blog about it in advance.

  4. The Glutonic Woman Says:

    Thanks, Jenny! Great to know you’re in Boston, too. It would be great to get together with some fellow GF eaters. Do let me know!

  5. Linda Says:

    I like making nachos using plain tortilla chips and shredded cheddar cheese. I heat them in the oven or microwave. With the warm weather, ice cream is a great comfort food. Many brands/flavors are gf, just read the labels.

  6. Gluten Free Atlanta « The Glutonic Woman Says:

    […] Given that this is the third wedding in just about as many weeks, you better believe I have my gluten free hangover food ready to […]

  7. Katrina (gluten free gidget) Says:

    Corn tortilla chips and Peach and Mango salsa!
    Personally, I would make a Green Monster Smoothie to clean out my system… But where’s the fun in that?! 🙂 Thanks for the comment! If you have any questions about anything (gluten or not) feel free to contact me. Have fun at the wedding!

  8. Luis Says:

    In those last years I have acquired some intolerance to some foods, specially milk and cheese. But with skim milk the problem decreases.

Leave a Reply

